Prolife, Bum Creek, Fabulous Diamonds – Boney, Melbourne, VIC (2013-11-29)

Fabulous Diamonds PosterThis show was my first at Boney (the rebirth of the notorious Pony). I have a couple of friends that hate the venue (for reasons I don’t totally understand), but I thought it was pretty good. It sounds great in there, and I got a great recording, so I guess that’s the main thing. Having only moved to Melbourne relatively recently I’d never had the chance to see Fabulous Diamonds live before, though they remained a band I knew I should see if given the chance. The supports for the night were also awesome, and I’m very happy with all three recordings.

PROLIFE
This Prolife set reflects a dramatic shift in sound since I last saw them. Continuing the trend of them becoming more punishing every time I see them, this set is by far their most raw yet. Throb and clang that at times verges on rhythmic noise.

Prolife

01 –
02 –
03 –

Total time 14mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

BUM CREEK
_…_
.’            ‘.
/ \           / \
(    |          |    )
(`”`    ”    `”`)
\                 /
\  ___   /
‘.___.’

Bum Creek

01 – *Soundcheck*
02 – Bliss My Eso
03 – Johnny
04 – Trev’s Curry Song

Total time 25mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

FABULOUS DIAMONDS
Though I consider myself a big fan of both FD members’ other projects (Jarrod in Free Choice, Mud Brick Couch, Demyster and Nisa in Bushwalking), I have admittedly not given Fabulous Diamonds nearly as much time as they deserve. Coming in at this point of the band’s life admittedly doesn’t help, but since this show I’ve slowly been making my way through their discography and letting each individual release sink in. I believe Jarrod was having some synth issues this night, but it honestly doesn’t detract from the performance whatsoever. An amazing band, deserving of praise.

Fabulous Diamonds

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –
05 –
06 –

Total time 34mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

Leave a Reply

