Exhaustion, Bitch Prefect – The Native Cats ‘Dallas’ LP Launch, The Gasometer, Collingwood, VIC (2013-09-21)

Native Cats PosterThis night was the launch of The Native Cats’ album Dallas, a band who I had never seen before this night (though was very keen to check out). Unfortunately, though I did record the (really, really good) Native Cats set, I’m really unhappy with how the recording turned out. If anybody is interested in hearing it anyway drop me a line and I’ll send it to you, but I don’t think it did them justice so I’m not going to post it here. The good news is that the two sets that I have posted here were fucking incredible, and both recordings turned out great.

EXHAUSTION
First of all, this was without a doubt one of the best sets that I have seen all year. Absolutely fucking incredible. Ian Wadley is currently filling in on bass for Exhaustion while Jensen is traveling in China and I believe this is the first show that he played with them. Ian really brings something different to the band, particularly during the initial (I think) improvised section of the set. I can hear echos of his distinctive playing style (best exemplified, in my opinion, by Ghost Gums and his solo work) in the way that he approaches the bass guitar. Hearing this different configuration of the band bounce ideas off each other was an absolute pleasure. On top of this; the direction that Exhaustion seems to have taken with their new material, it all heading into darker (and perhaps more punishing?) realms, is just incredible. Recording sounds amazing to boot (full props to the sound guy for a perfect mix). Essential.

Exhaustion

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –

Total time 24mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

BITCH PREFECT
Man, some of these new Bitch Prefect songs are fantastic – really looking forward to the new album. I’d say that this set was even better than their single launch a couple of weeks beforehand. Again, sound quality is great.

Bitch Prefect

01 – End Of Time
02 – Adelaide
03 – Special Boy
04 – Sunday
05 – University Fiend
06 – Walk With Style
07 – Shipped It
08 – An Education (Feeling Lazy)
09 – Holiday In America

Total time 26mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

Leave a Reply

