Prolife, White Hex, Forces, Lakes – Lakes ‘Blood Of The Grove’ LP Launch, The Tote, Collingwood, VIC (2013-08-24)

Lakes PosterTo begin with, please forgive my lack of information regarding these sets; I don’t know a whole lot about most of these bands. White Hex, Forces and Lakes were three bands which I had never properly seen live before, but had been recommended to me by various people. So when I saw this lineup I though it’d be a great chance to catch a few bands that I had been keeping an eye out for (plus another chance to see Prolife, who I already knew were great). This show was the launch of the latest Lakes LP ‘Blood of the Grove’. Prior to this set, my only other exposure to Lakes’ output was via the cassette ‘Live @ S&G’ and the LP ‘Solar Flecks’, both of which I admittedly hadn’t given the amount of listens they deserved – they kinda got lost in a backlog of records. Most of these tracks are left untitled because I don’t have the records; If anybody wants to post them in a comment I’d really appreciate it. I was going to pick up a copy of the Lakes LP on the night, but funds a kind of tight at the moment – I’ll have to pick up a copy eventually. Anyway; I’m glad I came to this show and the recordings turned out great.

PROLIFE
This Prolife set was pretty similar to the Monday Night Mass set from the week before. This latest material is pretty damn punishing – the addition of that extra keyboard just gives everything so much more oomph; bass straight in the guts. Looking forward to some sort of release by these guys.

Prolife

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 – Gold Leaves

Total time 17mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

WHITE HEX
White Hex is a group that a few people I know speak very highly of, but prior to this set I’d heard nothing by them. To be honest they’re not really my kind of thing; the guitar sound is pretty nice though.

White Hex

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –
05 –
06 –

Total time 27mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

FORCES
I’d briefly seen Forces at Sugar Mountain, but not really enough to get a good idea of them. After several very high praises from people I know, I thought I should take the chance to check them out properly. I can definitely see why so many people hold them in such high regard; musically I’m not into them at all, but as a live show/performance piece I was impressed. They filled the entire bandroom with thick fog, had a moody light show and robotic stage presence. Pretty cool.

Forces

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –
05 –
06 –
07 –
08 –
09 –

Total time 32mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

LAKES
As I said, my only other experience with Lakes prior to this show was the ‘Live @ S&G’ and ‘Solar Flecks’ releases. Both of those weren’t really accurate preparation for this set; they still had the same medieval ritualistic sound that so dominates this set, but with Bailey solo it was much more “weirdo doing rituals in his bedroom” than this; which by comparison is balls-out Druidic. An awesome experience nonetheless, totally transporting. Justin Fuller (Zond, Mum Smokes, Täx) helped out on guitar for the first few tracks. (Edit – The setlist has been completed below, but most of the mp3s remain unnamed – you’ll have to rename them yourself after you download.)

Lakes

01 – Wingless And Earthbound
02 – Visitation Dawn
03 – Winters Blade
04 – Blood of the Grove
05 – Pentangle Deck
06 – Crossed With Leaves
07 – The Longest Reign
08 – Dragon Current
09 – Secret Rites
10 – Solar Flecks
11 – The Oldest Place
12 – Painted Wreath

Total time 39mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

2 comments

  1. Thanks Sam – the titles are:

    1 Wingless And Earthbound
    2 Visitation Dawn
    3 Winters Blade
    4 Blood Of The Grove
    5 Pentangle Deck
    6 Crossed With Leaves
    7 The Longest Reign
    8 Dragon Current
    9 Secret Rites
    10 Solar Flecks
    11 The Oldest Place
    12 Painted Wreath

    1. Awesome! Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

