The Curse, Nth Wheel, Mad Nanna, Taco Leg – Mad Nanna’s 100th Birthday, The Tote, Collingwood, VIC (2013-07-25)

Mad Nanna Birthday PosterThis gig was held to celebrate Mad Nanna’s 100th show, a pretty impressive feat. They had a cake on stage, which was a nice touch. Tasted great too. All these sets sound great; The Curse played their first pub show, Nth Wheel played in full band mode, and Taco Leg made a rare Melbourne appearance – all round great stuff.

THE CURSE
The Curse is a very new band; prior to this set they’d only played  a few shows at house parties. Three girls playing wonky pop songs.

The Curse

01 – Metal Hair
02 –
03 – Positive Stalker
04 – By The Falls
05 –
06 – Sometimes A Nice Surprise
07 – Alone
08 – Wanderer’s Song

Total time 31mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

NTH WHEEL
I’d never seen Nth Wheel play with a band before – it was awesome. These songs really benefit from the grunt that a full band gives them – Drug Holiday went from a caveman folk jam to a full-blown downer anthem. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for upcoming gigs.

Nth Wheel

01 – Air Lift
02 –
03 – Drug Holiday
04 – Catch You Out
05 –
06 –
07 –

Total time 36mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

MAD NANNA
Great set from these guys as usual. As at most shows lately, Karl played keys with them. They played a song that I hadn’t heard them play for a while, not sure what it’s called. The instrumental version of I Hit A Wall was really nice – it’s one of my favorite songs of theirs, it was great to hear it getting played again. Not much more I can say that I haven’t already; I could see these guys another hundred times and never get sick of them.

Mad Nanna

01 – The Nectarine Tree
02 – No Title
03 – I Hit A Wall
04 –
05 – I Made Blood Better

Total time 31mins
DOWNLOAD HERE

TACO LEG
I’d never seen Taco Leg live before, but was a big fan of last year’s album so I was looking forward to this set a lot. They didn’t disappoint; exactly as stupidly fun as I’d hoped, and some of the best on-stage banter ever. They didn’t end up getting on stage until after midnight which is why some of the songs get cut short. I managed to pick up a free 7″ by answering a trivia question after the gig (I answered wrong, but they were nice guys).

Taco Leg

01 – Shut It Down
02 – Printed Gold
03 – Myths
04 – Raiders
05 – Were’s
06 – Shadow Pal
07 – Kid Legs
08 – Freemason’s Hall
09 – I Can’t Decide
10 – Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Rolling Stones)
11 – The Original
12 – Mother Knows

Total time 24mins.
DOWNLOAD HERE

Leave a Reply

