False Maturity, Von Einem, Mad Nanna, Aktion Unit – Aktion Unit Cassette Launch, The Tote, Collingwood, VIC (2013-05-23)

Aktion Unit PosterRecorded at the Tote on May 23 2012, this show was the launch of the Aktion Unit Responsibility cassette. I ended up getting good quality complete recordings of all sets, with the exception of Von Einem who’s set was only partially recorded. I was standing in the same place for every act – center stage, at the top of the stairs.

FALSE MATURITY
This band features members of Angel Eyes and Whitehorse, and was a simple set up of guitar, bass and drum machine. Pretty good – psychey, droney and sludgey. Can’t find much info about these guys anywhere, no releases that I can see.

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –

Total time 22mins

DOWNLOAD HERE

VON EINEM
Von Einem is Grover from Dead Boomers solo. He had a set up of cassettes running through various distortion pedals, and extremely harshly distorted vocals. Kinda ended up sounding like harsh noise spoken word, if that could be a thing. I had to leave about halfway through his set because my ears were closing up and I wanted to be able to hear Mad Nanna and Aktion Unit properly. Good noise though, if that’s your kinda thing.

01 –
02 –
03 –
04 –
05 –

Total time 12mins

DOWNLOAD HERE

MAD NANNA
Another great set from Mad Nanna. This set features the core group of Michael, Pat and Ian with the addition of someone playing keyboard (I can’t remember his name, he’s been consistently playing with them for a while now though). Really nice to hear some new songs, but the highlight of the set has to be the incredible fifteen minute version of No Title. The name of the third song I Don’t Have My Temperature is taken from a setlist, so it might not be the final title of the song.

Mad Nanna

01 – I’m Not Coming Here
02 – The Nectarine Tree
03 – I Don’t Have My Temperature
04 – No Title

Total time 31mins

DOWNLOAD HERE

AKTION UNIT
Aktion Unit have been one of those bands that I just kept missing out on seeing (such as at the previously posted Old Bar show), so when I saw this lineup I knew I had to make sure I finally took the chance to see them. I’m glad I did because this set was great; twenty-five minutes of free form improvised (I think) guitar noise. The pulsing distortion that begins at the thirteen minute mark is the sound of the head of a bass guitar being repeatedly thrust into the ground – great stuff. This set feature the guest presence of Marc Regueiro-McKelvie (New Estate, Popolice, The Enclosures) on guitar and handheld radio.

Aktion Unit

Total time 25mins

DOWNLOAD HERE

2 comments

  1. Rene Schaefer · · Reply

    Awesome recordings! The guest guitarist for Aktion Unit actually is Marc Regueiro-McKelvie, of New Estate / Popolice / The Enclosures, He’s a champ, and we love him.

    1. Oops! Thanks for clearing that up, I’ll fix it now. I’ve got no idea were I got it in my head that it was Dion…

Leave a Reply

